What they said.

ABOUT THE ZACK INCIDENT

6/23/11, Action Alameda News: ALAMEDA FIRE DISPATCH PHONE RECORDING PAINT A PICTURE OF CONFUSION, EQUIPMENT FAILURES , by David Howard  << how do you spell DERELICTION OF DUTY?  Which is exactly what you call failing to keep the batteries charged on life-saving equipment on an ambulance……..be sure to read the comments; very interesting.

6/22/11, East Bay Express:  A HISTORY OF INCOMPETENCE, letter from Liz Williams

6/22/11, San Jose Mercury: BENECIA INCIDENT DECADE AGO EERILY SIMILAR TO ALAMEDA SUICIDE OFF BEACH, by Matthias Gafni

6/8/11, East Bay Express:  HEROES AND COWARDS, by Robert Gammon

IT IS INCOMPREHENSIBLE THAT THE MAYOR, CITY COUNCIL, AND CITY MANAGER HAVE APPROVED THE CITY’S CONTRACT WITH THE FIREFIGHTERS AT THIS TIME.

“Residents are still seething because many questions about the drowning still haven’t been answered.”  – Alan Wang, KGO-TV.

Residents are still seething because the more we discover, the worse it is/was.

Yet, still, no word from the city on the independent investigation. No disciplinary action against any first-responder or manager thereof.

READERS:

What do you think of Tuesday night’s vote to approve the firefighters contract? 

What do you think of the way the city is responding to the Memorial Day assisted suicide of Raymond Zack?

About Denise Lai

Alive. Swim (fly is the best). Walking with my dog (weims are the best). Life is good. Would prefer people understood negative externalities and prevented themselves from creating them. Feeling the love anyway. View all posts by Denise Lai

3 responses to “What they said.

  • Marie

    It is pretty clear our city council are in bed with the firefighters.
    The fact that there have been no repercussions and no changes in policy since the Memorial Day incident, let alone the prior lawsuit lost. That they have yet to name an independent investigator(s), speaks volumes. I notice the barely concealed contempt Russo, Gilmore, et al, have toward Alameda citizens who dare to question them. They make my blood boil.

    I think a recall effort would be worthwhile to consider. DeHaan is the only one showing any integrity.

    This city will definitely go bankrupt if nothing is done, and our elected officials are showing they are not willing or able to make decisions and correct the course of the city. They just want to kick the can down the road and sweep everything under the rug.

    I want you to know I agree with just about everything you post here and I am extremely grateful for your diligence.

    • Denise Lai

      Thanks Marie. Exhausting work (after real work) doing this, but after the hospital nearly killed me and I discovered the dangerous ambulance protocols for stroke victims (which got changed ONLY because there was a county agency involved), and then after nothing was done about the 2009 FISC fire, then nothing was done about the 2010 Crude Oil Spill even though I spoke about it at City Hall and asked the city to see about it, I could not keep the information I have on my desktop. So I started this blog to share the source documents and what I’ve learned. Every time I consider slowing down on the blog, something heinous happens again in this city….until all residents wake up and demand better of the city, we will all continue to be at risk for being victimized by the city government and her agencies that are supposed to be enhancing and protecting our lives….

  • Marie

    I did read what you have previously posted, I just didn’t want to get too lengthy and use a good deal of profanity and mixed metaphors, ahem.

    Do not even THINK of slowing down. The more I read, the angrier I get.
    I read every detail of the lawsuit against the firefighters and I am not surprised at the outcome.

    I am astonished at the disfunctionality of our city government.
    I am very happy about the webcasts of the council meetings, they are very revealing, that’s one good thing I can say about them.

    Our local journalists certainly underplayed the FISC fire and Oil Spill incidents. I am not at all surprised the city hasn’t responded to you based on what I see they are completely and utterly self-serving. It would be difficult for me to be more outraged, although based on your experience, I’m afraid I will be.

    Keep up the work, it really is appreciated.
    I know damn well there are people who voted for Gilmore, etc., who now regret doing so.

